Your source for Mountain Biking in the Triangle
Raleigh-Durham-Chapel Hill

Trail Reviews for Angler's Ridge as submitted by trianglemtb.com guests

Average ratings submitted by users                     Write a review   User submitted reviews
CategoryAverage Rating
Overall :   4.7 / 5.0   based on 23 votes
Technical :   2.9 / 5.0   based on 23 votes
Climbing :   3.7 / 5.0   based on 23 votes
Freeride :   1.7 / 5.0   based on 23 votes
Scenery/Wildlife :   4.0 / 5.0   based on 23 votes
Flow :   4.3 / 5.0   based on 23 votes



Angler's Ridge trail has been reviewed 23 times by our trianglemtb.com guests.

Reviewed by:commodoremd
Reviewed on:10/10/2015
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Fun trail system. The builders used the elevation wisely to make for some punchy climbs and fun flow sections. Will definitely make the drive again!
Reviewed by:Freeform
Reviewed on:10/08/2015
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Drove up to Anglers today from Pittsboro to get some climbing in. Witchback never disappoints. Rode 3 loops and took care of some work under the pavilion (Free wifi through the city of Danville).

I haven't been up there in a while but was pleased to see the tool stand next to the bike washing station. Anxious to get back up there soon and ride some other trails.
Reviewed by:bigballstick
Reviewed on:05/01/2015
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
My overall experience is limited to tge blue trail at this time. I did not find this particular route in the ccw direction "flowy". As soon as u built speed it was time for another climb or sharp turn. It was not too terribly rooted or technical. The trails are well marked and easy to follow with or without maps and that is nice. As i ride this trail more and do more routes i will post more reviews.

Keep riding
Mike
Reviewed by:TANK
Reviewed on:11/06/2014
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Great trail system. Worth the drive from Raleigh. Nice to get out and have some variety from local trails. You can get a good amount of miles in with some decent climbs.
Reviewed by:fathippo
Reviewed on:09/15/2014
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
It was a little over a one hour drive from the triangle (Durham), but well worth it. I rode the Witchback followed by the red loop. What makes Angler's Ridge great is not only the amount of trails, but the great flow. Not highly technical although there is plenty of climbing on the Witchback and Crooked Stick. It was nice to just pick a color and follow it.
Reviewed by:seakey
Reviewed on:02/02/2014
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
The anglers ridge trail system is great it is highly accessible from nc. and va. The trails are some of the best marked and maintained around and include a bike wash. The flow is nice, fast and unusually free of fallen trees. The trails include some good climbing and nice trails that are cut in the side of the hills flowing with the hills. My hats off to svmba for maintaining trails. A bridge was out on the blue trail the supports being washed out. The trail was temporary rerouted and a few months later a new bridge was in place. If you haven't been check it out. It's also close to Dan Daniel park just over interstate 29.
Reviewed by:Kahuna
Reviewed on:11/30/2012
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Rode the red loop with a crew of folks. Conditions were great. Re-route at the top end after Hot Tamale was a bit sandy and sucked in wheels but after a few weeks should be solid. One of the SVMBA trail stewards was running the trail and very friendly/helpful. Great trail system and will be headed back to try out the new Hidden Hollow trail
Reviewed by:Special Jack
Reviewed on:11/09/2012
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
The anglers ridge rocks. Hidden hollow trail is super d duper fun.
Reviewed by:Izrock
Reviewed on:02/06/2012
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Great trail system. I rode about 12 miles of the trails on 1-26-12 (had some work in the area and took the afternoon off). Rode Little Pisgah, Hot Tamale, Camel Bak, and Angler's Ridge, tried to get onto Crooked Stick as they were doing some construction and had the main entrance closed. Ended up riding part of it before I ran out of daylight. First time on the trails. I found the trails easy to follow. What I rode I would equate to riding Legends in Clayton just more miles of trails. Similar good climbs and nice downhills with some good flowy areas as well. Easy access off the main road with lots of paved parking, bathrooms and bike wash station (closed for the winter right now).There is also a boat ramp, several picnic tables and a large field adjacent to the river if you wanted to hang out after riding and socialize a bit before the drive home. If you have ridden New Light, Beaver Dam, Legends, the Chapel Hill trails its time for something new - take the ride to Danville, you will not be disappointed!
Reviewed by:slirty
Reviewed on:10/31/2011
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
No detailed review given.
Reviewed by:Ekim
Reviewed on:02/22/2011
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
I found this trail system to be extremely fast, flowy and fun! The trails are well marked and with a little effort, easy to combine to make some fun loops. Only down side was the proximity of the waste water treatment plant to the "witch hill" loop. If the wind is blowing in the wrong direction, you get a nose full of sewer smell. Otherwise, the trails over all are very scenic and you will spot tons of wildlife along the way.

SVMBA has done an excellent job of maintaining and creating some of the most fun single track I have been on in this area. I strongly recommend taking a day to check out this trail system.
Reviewed by:Stumpjumper
Reviewed on:12/03/2010
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
No detailed review given.
Reviewed by:kayaker
Reviewed on:10/24/2010
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Though not super technical, Angler's Ridge was lots of fun. We rode three loops; Witchback, Red, and Green for a total of a little over 20 miles. The Witchback loop is much more climbing per mile than anything in the Triangle area and I was glad we went there first. The red loop is well marked and even though it intersects many other trails it's easy to stay on the loop without a map. The loop has lots of smooth flow sections followed by 100 yard killer uphills so be ready to downshift. Definitely worth the drive and not much farther than New Light for those of us in Durham or Chapel Hill.
Reviewed by:jeremyt
Reviewed on:08/09/2010
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Very fun trail, never disappointed when I go here. Some good climbs that you won't see in the Raleigh area mixed with excellent downhills and jumps mixed into the flow. Huge teeter out there as well. Beautiful area, lots of turtles on the trail the last time I went!

The new trail (Witchback) behind the plant is fairly intense as far as climbing. Its only ~3-4 miles long, but includes half a dozen good climbs, of which at least 3 are fairly steep and technical (roots/rocks/switchbacks). After doing the regular Anglers trails, this one will take the rest of whatever you have left.
Reviewed by:Superpilot
Reviewed on:07/15/2010
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Very nice trail system. It's a little confusing trying to figure out which routes to take, but the Southern Virginia mountain bike association has color coded routes and maps on their website to help, there's a map in the parking lot too. Lots more climbing than you can get in the Triangle. The Camel Back downhill (if you do it in the right direction) at the end is excellent. Good place to get some climbing in, without having to drive too far west. It's almost like a Chapel Hill trail system (not quite that tight though) with more vertical change, it's even close to the Danville airport. Loved it.
Reviewed by:deceptively slow
Reviewed on:07/08/2010
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Great trails but get a map. We had trouble following trails even though most were well-marked. It is worth the drive (other than a speeding ticket).
Reviewed by:Pete
Reviewed on:06/21/2010
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Great trail system. Most of my stars are in relation to what you'd find on most Triangle trails (so a little more technical and a little more climbing). A nice step-up for someone who is comfortable riding most everything in the RDU area.
Reviewed by:velocrazy
Reviewed on:06/17/2010
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Very fun trial system, lots of differing terrain. There are some pretty steep climbs that tax the legs. Great place to go for a day trip or the weekend!
Reviewed by:Rusted
Reviewed on:06/04/2010
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
I've been up there for mtn biking and trailing a couple times this year. I find it definitely worth the drive up from Chapel Hill. I even like to stop there on the way up North when we visit my wifes alma mater in Staunton. Plus if you ever need to buy anything from supplies to a meal, Danville is right there and has everything really close. I'm looking for some local camping areas so I can arrange a group weekend up there.
Reviewed by:MarkMTB
Reviewed on:05/16/2010
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Wish this trail system was a tad closer, but definitely worth the drive, esp. since there are a good number of miles out there. More climbing than local trails. Favorite - Crooked Stick.

New trail ("Witchland" ?) is going to be a nice addition going in closer to the treatment plant; some good climbing w/ a few tight, loose switchbacks.
Reviewed by:pewpewpew
Reviewed on:05/11/2010
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Amazing trails. The local trails (from what I've heard) have about 100 ft elevation gain. This trail has around 800 feet elevation gain. That means more climbing, but that also mean more hauling ass downhill.

I went up with 2 other friends. we've all been riding less than a year, but we've gotten tired with our local trails. We wanted something that had more of an all mountain feel. only took us a little over an hour to drive out there, and we road for about 7 hours, doing around 20 miles of trails

We did the advanced loop, the intermediate loop and the beginner loop. The signage was amazing. only time we got lost was when we stopped looking at the signs.

We all plan on going back very very soon. I just need to buy a bike with more suspension (i did it on a 4" of travel hardtail, which works well in raleigh, but in danville, you'll be much better off with a full suspension setup).
Reviewed by:edoiron
Reviewed on:05/10/2010
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
No detailed review given.
Reviewed by:TANK
Reviewed on:05/10/2010
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Well worth the drive. This trail is an all day event. Make sure to ride Little Pisga, Hot Tamale and Crooked Stick. A new trail has been built across the road, have not ridden it yet. I think it is called Witchback.

Show all reviews