Your source for Mountain Biking in the Triangle
Raleigh-Durham-Chapel Hill

Trail Reviews for Harris Park as submitted by trianglemtb.com guests

Average ratings submitted by users                     Write a review   User submitted reviews
CategoryAverage Rating
Overall :   3.4 / 5.0   based on 46 votes
Technical :   2.2 / 5.0   based on 46 votes
Climbing :   1.9 / 5.0   based on 46 votes
Freeride :   1.9 / 5.0   based on 46 votes
Scenery/Wildlife :   3.6 / 5.0   based on 46 votes
Flow :   3.6 / 5.0   based on 38 votes



Harris Park trail has been reviewed 46 times by our trianglemtb.com guests.

Reviewed by:strobl
Reviewed on:09/14/2017
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Harris was my inaugural trail in the Triangle, and is still a go-to for quick rides. It's a lot of flow and scenic riding through woods and on loops that are well maintained. The climbs are relatively short and don't involve anything terrible. The South Section, in particular, is very fast.

There are three areas, with a beginner trail offering a decent warm-up, and a root-heavy intermediate trail. Crossing the road that cuts through the park takes you to the advanced side, which is doable for anyone with riding experience. The hardest bits are a couple of deep troughs in the West and North sections, and there are a few skills sections with skinnies, a jump, etc. that bump the tech score up a hair.

Don't miss the interior loop- you'll see the entrance on the double track that cuts through the middle of the advanced sections, or you can catch it as you leave the West and come to the South section. The interior is basically a closed figure-8 that offers great flow on the back half.

The whole thing is about 7 miles of riding, so you'll need to repeat if you want a lengthier ride or tougher workout. The total elevation gain for circuit is usually something around 400 ft.
Reviewed by:wadarush
Reviewed on:06/19/2017
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Really enjoyed this trail.
It's not technical, not a lot of elevation changes, but it is so well groomed.
You can go real real fast on these loops.
Reviewed by:Misterdrew
Reviewed on:06/01/2017
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
I had pretty low expectations coming here. I've heard it is flat and not very technical. And while that is true, this park offers something that is pretty rare around here. A fast, flowy, racetrack type trail experience. At first I was bored (especially in the beginner and somewhat so in the intermediate loops) but once I made my way to the advanced section it was a great time. It will be as fun as you are willing to go fast. I tried to really crank it and work on my high speed cornering (great berms!) and it was a blast. I guess it could be compared to Crabtree in a way, but I found Harris much more fun. Crabtree suffers from being overcrowded and 2 way traffic and hikers. At Harris I felt comfortable going as fast as I could and really sending it. There are a couple "double black diamond" spots but there weren't overly crazy. All in all, I am looking forward to going back sometime when I just want to go fast. If you are looking for something more technical, go a few more miles down the road to San Lee.

Oh I almost forgot. The skills park is super fun! Great features that really challenged me to practice!
Reviewed by:Hedden
Reviewed on:05/28/2017
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
I usually ride 286 or Crabtree but wanted a change or scenery so I decided to give Hog's Run a try. It's super easy. It's a perfect trail if you're brand new to mountain biking. Beginner and intermediate trails are (IMO) all beginner. It could even be argued that the Advanced could be 'Beginner', but it would probably be justifiable as intermediate.
The best part about these trails is the flow. You can get some pretty good speed in some spots and they last for a pretty good interval. You can really practice your weight distribution on the berms and small turns. The worst part about these trails are the switchbacks. Some spots feel like your just going around in circles not covering much ground. The skills area is pretty fun but I wish it were a little bigger.
Reviewed by:willisj76
Reviewed on:12/08/2016
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
I live 15 minutes from Harris so I ride here quite frequently. Changes were made over the past year and they have seriously improved things, IMO. Much better flow and a lot less rooty. The West was left pretty much intact I believe, and that's still one of my favorite trails.
I used to drive 30 minutes to get to Crabtree but these days I spend all my time at Harris. It's a lot of fun. The beginner/intermediate trails are a good warmup, although those trails aren't in as good a condition as the advanced section. I believe I heard that they will be doing work to the Intermediate trails so that could change. My preferred loop in the advanced has been East-->Fire Road-->New Connector (across from the inner loop, a super fun little trail)-->West-->North-->Fire Road-->New Connector (Yes I like it so much I hit it twice!)-->South. Really fun loop, combined with the intermediate/beginner stuff it's 11+ miles.
Reviewed by:Kev2380
Reviewed on:09/26/2016
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
I feel very lucky to live so close to this trail. I ride it at least one or two times a month. The trails are well maintained and very flowy. There are so many fun sections, especially in the advanced area. You don't have to climb much to get great flowy roller coaster type rides. If you're looking for jumps and crazy riding features this isn't the place for you. If you want to ride where there's beautiful scenery while cruising at 8-10mph this is the place. There are some rooty sections but overall it's not bad.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HGQuOWmlRTA
Reviewed by:law
Reviewed on:07/23/2016
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Once again Harris Lake trails are closed. All other trails are open but not Harris Lake. So frustrating. Seems like this trail is closed more than open unless there is an event. Then it is open rain or shine. So inconsistent.
Reviewed by:saltz
Reviewed on:05/29/2016
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
From Durham, its a pleasant and easy ride out there via the American Tobacco Trail and the trails are flowy and fun after a long spin, but one warning, the water from the water fountain is terrible and murky. We both felt nauseaus after drinking it. They have a vending machine that sells water so bring one dollar bills or fill up at the convenience store on US 1. The park staff is present and helpful in terms of navigating the trails if its your first time out.
Reviewed by:Shinobijim
Reviewed on:04/23/2016
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Harris Lake is fun. It's not particularly rigorous, but definitely one of those places where what you put in is what you get out. I love it to get a hard fast spin. Do the whole trail twice! Ideal for single speeders...nothing that is not rideable.
Reviewed by:JonB
Reviewed on:07/22/2015
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
It's not a bad trail but not a very fun one either. Imagine a Lake Crabtree but with more elevation change, more roots, and basically no flow. The advanced section has a couple ok jumps and berms along with a small black diamond area with some steep up and downs. There's a skills area in the beginning that's pretty fun. This trail is really more for fitness than fun/tech.

If you're from the triangle area then you can have more fun at Crabtree. Otherwise, if you're going to do this drive you might as well go the extra 10 miles to San Lee which is infinitely better.
Reviewed by:tidal71
Reviewed on:04/26/2015
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Not sure why this trail has a low rating relative to the others in the area. I think it is a great trail for beginner to intermediate riders. I like how it is laid out with "beginner", "intermediate" and "advanced" loops so you can pick what you want based on ability. It is not technically challenging for intermediate riders, but can be a good workout because it has good flow with a few jumps and a fun little double diamond section. There is also a skills area for practice.
Reviewed by:acmccart8
Reviewed on:04/15/2015
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Excellent trail for beginners, a few tough obstacles but nothing overwhelming. Beginner loop is 0.7 miles, and both intermediate loops put together are about 2 miles, and all of the advanced loops are 5 miles together. Great view of the lake, and a lot of nearby wildlife. I have come within a few feet of deer quite a few times on this trail. Not a lot of climbs, but enough to work the legs a bit. Overall, I don't know why this trail is rated so low, probably because it's lack of "technical" obstacles, but overall this is a very enjoyable ride. Highly recommend this trail for true beginners looking to see what mountain biking is all about!
Reviewed by:fathippo
Reviewed on:07/22/2014
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
No detailed review given.
Reviewed by:Ruff
Reviewed on:09/30/2013
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Considering the other trails I've ridden in the area (CNF, Little River, Briar Chapel, & Little River) this is a pretty good group of trails. For anyone looking to log substantial mileage, be prepared to ride everything in both directions. For anyone looking to spend an hour or two pedaling through the woods on singletrack, get some exercise, and occasionally be challenged, these are great trails for you.

-The beginner trail is .5 miles and hitting it twice is a good way to get warmed up and get your bike dialed in.

-The intermediate trail is pretty tame (save for a good number of root-y sections), but is enough to get you off your seat occasionally and get you ready for the advanced section.

-The advanced loops (it's kind of a contorted clover shape) are a good way to get lost in the magic that is a thin strip of dirt coming at your front tire. There are roots galore to keep you from getting to complacent, with plenty of twists, turns, and dips for one to lean into and pump through. Where a few of the loops run along the lake, there are a series of relatively challenging ups-and-downs through fingerling gulleys that edge the water. These all have ride-arounds and are marked with the relative rating of 'Double Black Diamond'. There are a smattering of skinnies in some of the trails and a couple of wooden jumps--however, many land to flat, meaning you may need to carry good speed, be prepared to drop your seat, or just ride around.

Given what's available in the Triangle area, I'd say this is pretty similar to CNF, with less overall diversity in trails and fewer instances of challenging topography. However, the trails at Harris Lake are better maintained than CNF and appear to dry faster.
Reviewed by:eddyward
Reviewed on:09/10/2013
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Rode the 6 hour race here last spring, and rode it a couple of times prior just to get a good feel for the trail. I really enjoy this trail!
Reviewed by:bigballstick
Reviewed on:08/28/2013
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Harris was an okay place to ride...I am new to Mountain biking but probably inbetween beginner and intermediate phase...My gf is a beginner...She says the intermediate and beginner portions of the trail were too easy even for her...I agreed...They were very easy and a great place to learn bike control as there were some narrows and some roots you have to deal with.

The advanced section I found to be challenging and more intermediate phase...the black diamond were definetly hard for me...but I was able to navigate most of them...They do have some advanced sections in them...

The climbs were not that bad...
I liken the advanced sections of the trail with exception of the black diamond to be crabtree's loop 3,4,5 and 6...if that helps...

Bottom line....will I ride harris again...Probably....But only if the fish are not biting and I want to do something else while on that side of the county...since i live in wf crabtree and beaverdam to me is a better option.
Reviewed by:Tanager
Reviewed on:05/31/2013
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
I enjoy Harris Lake - the beginner/intermediate section (which really feels like one long, primarily beginner section) is pretty good for keeping the pedals turning, although there are some turns near the lake where the trees are too tight, and it's difficult to keep any momentum - I'd have preferred something flowier there. The advanced section is nice and pretty extensive - I'm not a particularly strong technical rider, and the most technical sections here definitely push me pretty hard, but there are also some lengthy sections where you can keep moving and work on your technical skills (if you're on the lower end of intermediate, like me).

If you want to clock miles, plan on riding some of the loops multiple times - I usually start and finish with a couple laps apiece of the b/i section, then exploring the advanced section in the middle. The b/i section is almost pancake flat, there are a few climbs in the advanced area, but nothing that's really going to push your legs that hard. I'm planning on bringing my soon-to-be-9-year-old down here to introduce him to trails soon, and this is definitely a good spot to get started.
Reviewed by:shredward
Reviewed on:03/18/2013
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Nice trail if you're just lookin to get outside and ride! Mostly flat with some flow and lots of roots to make it tech. The freeride stuff at the skills section is a joke, whoever is buiding this needs to stop, you don't have a clue? Fun trail to ride, but stay away from jumps in the skills section unless you want to get broken!
Reviewed by:Aquajern
Reviewed on:02/06/2013
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
I am not sure why this trail does not get more amazing reviews, but I rode there yesterday 2-5-13 and the current trail was worth the trip for me from Lumberton, NC a 2 hour drive!

I spoke to the manager of the park and they are continually adding the the trail, skills section, and obstacles throughout the trail so it can only get better.*They love suggestions, so lets help make this a trail people from all around will want to come too!

The trail offers a beginner loop, Intermediate loops, several advanced loops, and a double black Diamond. I found most trails can be ridden both ways for a new amazing ride each time.

Pros: (Facilities, rangers, clean, low traffic, many riding options for anyone).
Great Flow
Roots (Just enough)
Lots of "WHOOP DE DOOS" including a couple roller coaster sections.
Some killer hills that demand balance and commitment
Jumps of all sizes at skill section and throughout trail
Nice bridges
Nice climbs and switchbacks
Double Black Diamond section
View of lake (almost made me hit a tree at one point examining the beauty dropping down a hill at high speed!)
Skill Section
Offers expansion and has great potential to become a even better trail

Cons:
Didn't see a lot of log obstacles or log piles for those who like these
Would like to see more technical stuff on trail (ramps over hills, skinnies, etc.)
Direction was unclear at a few parts where trail breaks off ( I think it was by passes from harder sections, but unsure)
*A bench overlooking the lake for a rest would be a nice touch, but no a con by any means

I filmed the trails on my GoPro Hero 2 in 1080. So I am in the process of editing it now and hope to have it posted over the weekend. I will show a trail video for each section and a shorter highlights video of the greatest moments.

My channel is under Jonathan Sherman
here is a link to one of my videos to help you find me!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uuXIl0fYD0c



GREAT RIDING
Reviewed by:sethbotwick
Reviewed on:04/19/2012
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
I love this park but honestly would not probably ride Harris if I didn't live so close. I run on the running trails more than ride. If I need an easy training session and want to stay close to home, I'll ride Harris. The disk golf course rocks! I also like Harris because it's not very crowded ever. Last thing, the trails seem to be closed a lot and stay closed for a while after a rain.
Reviewed by:belleau1977
Reviewed on:01/07/2012
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
I've been mountain biking for 13 years now so I'm going to base this review somewhat on other trails in my life I have rode but over all I really enjoyed this trail! The last review was negative about the trail being not fun but I had a good time the entire afternoon. The trail as a whole isn't really too challenging for climbing since the tallest hill will only take you less than a minute or more to climb which are easy climbs. The expert part of this trail to me is more of a novice if intermediate I think? I've ridden the Wichita mountain range trails in Oklahoma which some are no kidding 90% technical there's so many boulders but this trail there is only one boulder I recall going over on a small downhill section by the lake. Technically this trail isn't realy unless you count the tightness you go through the trees which can be tight but fun. Roots are everywhere so expect to be off the seat a lot! Harris lake might be more of a beginner or intermediate trail but coming from Goldsboro 60 miles away I would definately come back! I miss riding extremely rocky places with boulders but for the area its a good place to ride and perfect for families to introduce the kids which I saw quite a few riding today. Great trail and to those that complain about it just remember you could be at home watching TV and not riding in a beautiful park. Also I highly recomend San Lee State Park in Sanford which has two rock gardens one which is very good to navigate through even for a vet rider.
Reviewed by:El Jefe
Reviewed on:08/10/2011
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
The more trails in the triangle area the better, but...

This trail is very poor on my list. Maybe the most non fun ride I have had. The flow here is terrible. You have to shut it down so many times. Some corners are hard 90's and tight. This is not because of lack of handling skills. Excessive roots also. (not the trail builders fault) but very root laden.

There are some fun short parts and what is called "the black diamond" area is pretty good.

My poor rating of this trail though is mostly from lack of flow.

The beginner loop is great for beginners and passes along the lake nicely.

If you live in North Raleigh or Cary/Morrisville, it is not worth the drive to Harris.

(oh, and don't be afraid of snakes. I saw 3)
Reviewed by:Carlman
Reviewed on:01/29/2011
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Harris is a good place to go with a family, throw a round of disc golf, or hang out on a picnic blanket... oh, or ride your bike around. In that regard it's similar to Crabtree Park but the trails have a different personality. They get dicey in a places that make it a little more challenging and thrilling. There are times when it's a little boring but there are enough features to keep your mind busy too.

I had to look hard to find 7 miles of trail. I had to do a good bit of doubling back through the 'Hog loop' just to get 7.. So I'm not sure what I missed but I feel certain I missed a loop. There are maps and signs making it easy to figure out if you so choose. Next time I'll look closer.

The trail itself is a bit rooty, there is a section of dips or whoopty-doos or whatever they're called that are a little challenging. I would think most mtb beginners could handle all but maybe a few of the weird dips/descents. Young children and beginner bike riders might find it more challenging. I have to assume the signs that say 'advanced' and 'beginner' or even 'double black diamond' are relative to the trail, not other trails in general... or New Light must be quadruple black diamond with blood dripping off them. ;)

There is some elevation but not much. There are very few grinders. If you ride it at a really quick pace, it is fun as an advanced rider... however, you run out of trail quick so you'll need to do multiple loops if you want a longer ride.

Bottom line it's a fun trail, especially for beginners and intermediates... I just wish it had more miles... and more interesting miles.

-C
Reviewed by:jpbova
Reviewed on:11/01/2010
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
I've ridden crabree, wilkesboro, and beaverdam. This trail is tougher than crabtree but easier than beaverdam. It has a great playground area, and there is more climbing than crabtree but not as much climbing as beaverdam. This is one of my favorite trails because it is usually uncrowded
Reviewed by:xterraman
Reviewed on:08/28/2010
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
A great place to learn singletrack riding. For the more acomplished rider it's fun the first the few times, eventually though you'll be in search of something more challenging.
Reviewed by:BassPlayer
Reviewed on:05/29/2010
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
After not riding for three years since I moved here from Santa Jose CA, this was my first ride in NC. I found it quite enjoyable. I rode it right after a heavy spring rain and was suprised to see the trail was ridable.
Reviewed by:slirty
Reviewed on:03/08/2010
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
No detailed review given.
Reviewed by:SwiftCreek
Reviewed on:10/05/2009
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Just rode this trail after a 10 yr hiatus. I brought my 9 yr old out for her first mtn bike ride too. She was able to ride all the "main" trails, beginning, intermediate, expert (because of the nicely made detours around the obstacles). This wasn't a technically challenging ride but it was certainly nice and fun for everyone. The trails are mostly flat with some very small inclines that my daughter had no problem navigating. Trails are well maintained and well marked. The boardwalks and little bridges were my daughter's favorites. Overall, this is a nice and easy single track ride for the young, old, novice and expert. Best of all, for those of us with children, this is a ride that a 9 yr old can handle. If you're like my wife and I, we've been waiting a long time to take our kids mtn biking! We're planning to get to know these trails very well... Happy Riding!
Reviewed by:Stumpjumper
Reviewed on:09/03/2009
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
No detailed review given.
Reviewed by:drgrace
Reviewed on:07/15/2009
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
The trails at Harris Lake County Park are awesome. I am very good at handling my bike, I just began riding again about 2 weeks ago and already have ridden all of the trails. The beginner loop is very easy and short (.7 miles or so). The intermediate trails are a little longer (2 miles), while the advanced long (5 miles). I think that even the advanced trail isnt that technically challenging, it is more a test of endurance. That, I think is how one should look at the rating system of the trails here. I am seriously thinking of buying a bike with at least front shocks as a good amount of these trails have some bumpy, root-filled sections. Overall, a place I will call home for a while.
Reviewed by:quisk
Reviewed on:06/23/2009
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Harris is a well-maintained, well-marked/mapped network of trails that provides a better-than-average range of trail options for different skill levels. The Beginner trail is as easy as it gets, a very flat path with no real challenges - perfect for exposing your young child to riding on dirt trails. The Intermediate section is a nice step up, best for older children and/or adults who are learning basic MTB riding skills. The Advanced section is mostly fairly easy/flat singletrack, but there are some excellent challenges along the way, including a steep hill or two. I consider Harris to be a step up in difficulty from LCCP, but not a big step. Compared to LCCP, the biggest difference is Harris has a LOT less traffic, surely due to its location being away from the most populated area of the Triangle. Also, I'm not sure if hiking is discouraged, but I've never seen a single hiker on the Harris Lake trails.
Reviewed by:ttucker
Reviewed on:06/19/2009
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
No detailed review given.
Reviewed by:jcw5002
Reviewed on:05/09/2009
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Harris is pretty sick! It is pretty fast and not too technical. There's lots of fun to be had over in the advanced loop about halfway through. The terrain back there is pretty wild and there are lots of whoop-de-dos to have fun with. We'll definitely go back soon!
Reviewed by:vulcangreen
Reviewed on:04/27/2009
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Harris Lake is probably my second most favorite place to ride in the Triangle, next to Beaver Dam. I am not a fast rider and places like New Light and Beaver Dam really keep me right sized with my ego in regard to my riding ability. But Hog’s Run makes me feel like I am mountain biking pro! Harris Lake is fast and easy to navigate. There are no major hills and the trail is relatively free of roots and rocks. The berms on the turns are pretty stable and can support speeding bikes, too. Much like Lake Crabtree, it is a great place for beginners it does have some fun features as well. My favorites are the gully drops, whoop de doos, and black diamond sections at about the half way point near the lake. There is a nice little technical hill climb back there too. Mostly, Hog’s Run is just a place to haul ass!
Harris Lake is can give you that feeling of being deep in the woods but there are often reminders that there is a nuclear power plant close by. The worst is when the security force at the power plant is using the gun range. It starts off as alarming and then just gets annoying. Other than that, it is a very pretty setting and a great place for families, too. There are nice facilities inside of the park and plenty of parking.
Reviewed by:IMHO
Reviewed on:04/20/2009
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Great trail for all skill levels. Even Beginners can negotiate the advanced section as there are ride-arounds. Nothing in the advanced section (that must be ridden) is more difficult than what is in the intermediate section.

An intermediate/advanced rider can go through this trail system in under 45 min. For a good ride, go through beg. intermediate ccw, advanced ccw then run advanced cw and intermediate cw. For a better ride just keep looping on the advanced trail and be sure an hit the small center loop with each lap.
Reviewed by:drfloyd5
Reviewed on:04/17/2009
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
No detailed review given.
Reviewed by:bank5
Reviewed on:04/12/2009
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
PROS: Never crowded, flows well, not a lot of hills

CONS: not very technical. might be too short for some riders, faster riders will be able to cover all the trails in under an hour

Something to consider: Although almost everyone rides the advance loop counterclockwise, I highly recommend trying it clockwise. I think it flows great clockwise, it almost feels like the majority of it is downhill
Reviewed by:terrible1one3
Reviewed on:04/11/2009
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
I loved Harris, it was the only park opened one day after a quick shower so my fiance and I went for a quick ride.

Her skill level is beginner. I am intermediate. It was great because we both could enjoy the park. The beginner/intermediate area is great for a nice warm up and to get her used to riding again.

Then on to the advanced part I absolutely loved. Everything is quick in this area, quick down hills, quick up hills. Pretty open singletrack. Great signs, one at every path to the exit clearly marked saying "parking lot" as opposed to a sign with a number where I have to read a map and get lost.

She had enough about 3 miles into the 6 mile advanced loop. I was thirsty for more, this place was quite fun. Out of the 5 or 6 people we saw on a Saturday (awesome!) only 1 was a jerk racer guy who didn't yield to us as we were going uphill. Still pretty good odds!

Can't believe how open the trails were on a Saturday especially with them being the only ones open in the area.

Glad to see there is at least 1 park in the area that doesn't close after a quick shower... wish there were more though!
Reviewed by:Triebert
Reviewed on:03/21/2009
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:Not Rated
Report inappropriate review
No detailed review given.
Reviewed by:DAG
Reviewed on:03/06/2009
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:Not Rated
Report inappropriate review
Great opportunity for all experience riders. Even the advanced loop has ride arounds around most of the obstacles such as skinnies are log piles - though not always. I really enjoy this trail.
Reviewed by:bvh3
Reviewed on:03/06/2009
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:Not Rated
Report inappropriate review
No detailed review given.
Reviewed by:SMAK
Reviewed on:03/06/2009
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:Not Rated
Report inappropriate review
No detailed review given.
Reviewed by:edoiron
Reviewed on:03/03/2009
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:Not Rated
Report inappropriate review
No detailed review given.
Reviewed by:MarkMTB
Reviewed on:03/01/2009
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:Not Rated
Report inappropriate review
No detailed review given.
Reviewed by:bnt0726
Reviewed on:02/20/2009
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:Not Rated
Report inappropriate review
This is the closest trail to me, and therefore I ride it a lot. I will be honest at first I didn't like it much. After riding it for a while it grew on me. Trails is built for beginners and gets pretty crowded on nice weekends. Scenery is great because the majority of the trail traces the shoreline of Harris Lake. Little climbing, just some short gradual stuff. Overall not very technical just the usual roots scattered along the trail.

I recommend riding the advanced loop twice once in each direction to get some more miles in. Like all trails it is totally different backwards. Also don't forget the "inner inner" loop inside the advanced loop.
Reviewed by:trianglemtb
Reviewed on:01/24/2009
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:Not Rated
Report inappropriate review
Not my personal favorite place to ride because it's a long drive for me, but I won't knock the trails for that. Low on the technical and climbing scale, Harris Park is really good for novice riders or advanced riders who want an easy day. There's a couple of small jumps and two skinny bridges but it's not a big freeride destination. The night rides here can be a blast. Don't miss the nuclear plant's cooling tower viewed across the lake, especially at sunset! You won't find many views like this.

Show all reviews