Your source for Mountain Biking in the Triangle
Raleigh-Durham-Chapel Hill

Trail Reviews for Legend Park as submitted by trianglemtb.com guests

Average ratings submitted by users                     Write a review   User submitted reviews
CategoryAverage Rating
Overall :   3.6 / 5.0   based on 32 votes
Technical :   3.6 / 5.0   based on 32 votes
Climbing :   3.2 / 5.0   based on 32 votes
Freeride :   3.9 / 5.0   based on 32 votes
Scenery/Wildlife :   2.7 / 5.0   based on 32 votes
Flow :   2.5 / 5.0   based on 25 votes



Legend Park trail has been reviewed 32 times by our trianglemtb.com guests.

Reviewed by:Misterdrew
Reviewed on:05/02/2017
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
This page needs to be updated. I decided to check this trail out recently and was sorely disappointed. From what I can tell the park is no longer maintained as it once was. Most of the wooden features shown in the pictures no longer exist. Many of them were practice features outside of the trail which I think are all gone. Many are also features on the trail like bridges which are either gone or rotten and falling apart. The hucksville section of this trail is also in disrepair and quite dangerous to ride at the moment. The wooden extensions are falling and unsafe. The trees and plants have grown up around the trails to make them dangerous. One thing is the wooden berm at the bottom of the hucks seems to still be in decent shape! Overall this place has a lot of potential. One of the only trails in the area which could make it a destination for people east of Raleigh who don't want to deal with the traffic of getting to the other popular trails. Hopefully I just went at a bad time and the trail will soon return to its former glory.
Reviewed by:forestrider
Reviewed on:04/10/2015
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Fun trails. Wish they were maintained a little better. Trails are not marked marked very well so it is challenging to find a loop without someone to show you the way.

On the "Upper" section there is some moderate climbs. I consider myself an intermediate rider and was able to ride the more difficult sections without overly exerting myself.

Hucksville is cool if you have never had a chance to get much air. Nice drops here and it is close to the parking lot in case you destroy yourself.

The "Lower" section had a couple rock gardens but nothing significant enough to require a lot of effort. This section is considerably flatter and much more suited for beginners than the Upper.

If you live close to Clayton then you should check it out. I live in southwest Raleigh and probably will not drive the 20-25 minutes out there again. Don't get me wrong, I had fun, but I was expecting more from what everyone I have spoken to has told me about this park. A little underwhelmed...
Reviewed by:beachcruiser
Reviewed on:12/29/2014
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
This trail has gone downhill due to lack of maintenance. It is nice to have a trail in your town so I enjoy riding it anyways.

Big thanks to whoever added the couple of jumps and the berm on the upper trail!
Reviewed by:Dragon21
Reviewed on:06/14/2014
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
When you arrive at the park. There are no signs letting you know where to go, or which trails are which, or even the difficulty of the trail you are about to ride. Trails are still easy enough to find, just head for the woods. Trails could definatly use some maintenance (especially the man made features). The only markings I could find were a few orange or yellow markings along the trails. Even with those markings, the trails branch off so much it's very easy to end up on a different trail and not know it. After exploring these trails, I would recomend if you haven't been here, ride them with someone who knows them. Beware of trail dangers until the trail has been fixed, I found multiple areas with broken glass, vines hanging across the trail, and even a metal sign post sticking out of the ground. I'm sure the trail is good if you know where to ride, if you don't, be careful
Reviewed by:hey, wait up!
Reviewed on:09/09/2013
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Overall a fun trail. I felt it was lacking in flow, but feel this is in large part due to the amount of trail in a tight space.
Much more technical that i thought it would be, i could say the same for the climbs.
The skills area is neat, but could use some new lumber, same for most of the skinnys and bridges.
fun trail, but needs some TLC to justify the 3o min drive from Raleigh.
Shout out to Rhett for the tour!
Reviewed by:paulfrance
Reviewed on:08/17/2013
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
well i have rode this trail almost everyday because i live very close to it, i can say the trails has seen better days but it is still a great trail to ride.the huckvill is still there and i ride it alot and also keep up with it and alot of the trees that fell across the trail that couldn't have a log jam put over it were removed and the rock garden is still very difficult with different paths through it. alot of the wooden features that were built by the city of clayton have either been removed or have rotted away, but alot of riders even myself have helped rebuild the trails. there is a new trail being built beside the big ravine drop and i can say this hill is smoother but is also steeper and dangerous so freeriders are welcome. some other features that have been replaced is some bridges and alot of trees and roots have been removed and there is alot more to be removed. i plan to smooth out some of the log jams and to rebuild most of the jumps and ramps that have fallen apart over the years. its just me and my friend working on the trails and some other riders that i don't know of. soon to be more on the trails as colder weather comes.
Reviewed by:Aquajern
Reviewed on:06/30/2013
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Closest thing in triangle that might resemble a mountain trail. The upper section has many loops and all are truly suburb. The initial descent to the loops makes for a fun gut lifting moment. Lots of jumps, potential for jumps, fast descents, skinnies, drops, whoops, climbs, switchbacks ( some tight), rock garden, Hucksville, danger, more jumps, and playground before trail entrance... Need I say more! The lower section is ok, but I usually opt for the upper sections. Beware, rain will make lower section a nightmare of mud and slippage, but the upper usually is still rideable. Love this trail system. Top ten rides for me... Would like to see future loops added?
Reviewed by:Kfun
Reviewed on:01/24/2013
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
I just got back from riding at Legend Park. I didn't know what I was getting into due to the last rating was from 2/13/2012. It was about a 30 minute drive for me. I thought it was a lot of fun!! There were some great features that were ride-able, but a lot that could use some repairs. The skills area would be more fun on a full suspension bike and with some repairs on the ride-ons, but it was fun! The trails were rooty, hilly, but fun! Every log-over had an alternative route. A lot of the ride-ons were well built and stable but are risky. Overall, I would ride it again in warmer, dryer weather.

I am planning on bringing some tools and hardware in the spring to make it better and have more flowing features.

Kyle
Reviewed by:tfl2u2
Reviewed on:02/13/2012
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
I went to legend a few days ago and to my surprise there was some new trail construction going on. People have been building what looks to be a wall ride and a new jump line near hucksville that if finished would be really fun. Besides this, the trail seems to be in pretty good shape with no major problems or faults within the trail. This is the best trail iv'e found near me and it keeps me coming back for more. The trail really has everything to offer form great climbs to fast descents which is one of the reasons I rated it so highly. Also, I gave the trail 5 stars for freeride due to hucksville and all of the skinnies that have been built over the years. For me, huckville is what really makes the trail so great. The biggest drop there is probably around 15 feet tall and is pretty big even for the veteran rider.
Reviewed by:sethbotwick
Reviewed on:01/29/2012
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Tried this trail for a change and found myself wishing I had gone to San Lee, Umstead, or Beaverdam. Posting the physical adress as 505 City rd, would help for those of us that use GPS.
Reviewed by:gbass82
Reviewed on:07/21/2011
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
I have recently tried out the trails at legend park. during my first visit, It was difficult to determine where I was at on the trail but after a couple of trips, it was no problem.The trails are neat and clean and has a little of everything for every rider. I first tried out both upper and lower trails. both are really fun and enjoyable. I feel that the trails could be marked a little better to help you know where you are (especially for first time visitors). Also, the training area (skills zone near parking lot)needs some repair. Overall, these are fun trails. I especially like the short loop/long loop. These trails have a nice balance. I continue to go to legend park and I have a blast each and every time. I highly recommend it.
Reviewed by:mlin32
Reviewed on:06/05/2011
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
I rode this trail yesterday and found it better than expected given the negative press about conditions. The flow could be a bit better and there are a few places where some branches could be trimmed, but it's not all that bad. I really enjoyed the Upper trails portion, especially Larry's loop; plenty of opportunity to gain speed on the downhills and carry it through the next uphill. The most fun I've had so far in my limited time in the Triangle area; more fun than Crabtree in some respects. I haven't tried the stunts on Allen's Trail but will give it a shot next time.
Reviewed by:Jaydog4571
Reviewed on:05/16/2011
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Legend park is a great place for a mountain bike trail system. The existing trails however are not in great shape and are in desperate need of maintenance. The terrain and elevation changes throughout this park are ideal for a great flowing course, but the existing trails were laid out in such a way as to not flow very well. Couple this with extreme lack of maintenance and some portions are not rideable. This park has the potential to be the best in the area. The town of Clayton should invest in these trails or TMB or TORC should get involved with new trail construction and or maintenance. Why should Johnston county residents have to drive 20 miles to ride decent trails in another county?
Reviewed by:compressionfed
Reviewed on:05/01/2011
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
I rode this trail for the first time yesterday morning. I was excited to see the skills section, however on my first approach up the ramp toward the three drops, I was flipped off my bike as the first two boards broke in half. Not easily deterred, I once again attacked the ramp. Once on the top I realized that the condition of the entire fixture was less than safe. After a quick drop, I moved on to the trails.

On the positive, I think these trails are the most challenging in the triangle area (at least that I've been to). The trails are covered with ruts, roots, and rock gardens. There are technical downhills, ample switch-backs, and several jumps and log rolls to play with. However, there are also several pretty technical up hills that forced me to walk my bike a few times.

On the negative, THIS IS DEFINITELY NOT A BEGINNER COURSE. While that doesn't affect me, I would not be able to take my girlfriend on this trail. There seems to many fun loops at Legend, but the markings are poor (or, non existent). I found myself looping in circles several times before I was able to find my way off that trail and on to another.

Suggestions: I would submit that better trail markings and more maps spread out around the trail would be nice (sort of like Crabtree). Also, PLEASE FIX THE DAMAGED FIXTURES
Reviewed by:ECOdork
Reviewed on:04/09/2011
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
This was my first time back to Legend in ~3 years. The positive is that they've done well packing so much trail in a small footprint and I felt there was more trail than before. All the lumber trails really allow expansion of trail into otherwise unridable wetland and floodplain areas. Lots of heavy duty stunts too, if you're into that sorta thing. Some steep (but short) drops and some steep (but short) climbs. Switchbacks abound. The nature of the terrain (Neuse drainage, fall-line geology) make this a unique riding location. Go from coastal-plain wetlands to rocky piedmont stream bluffs in the same place!

The negative (for me, at least) was that I felt like I was either going the wrong direction the whole time or trespassing (so close to houses, lots of confusing "no trespassing" signs along what should be a signed trail). I felt that there was much more flow 3 years ago, even though there were fewer trails. Now it kinda feels like I was stringing together short sections of unmarked trail to get to a big stunt. The mapping was terrible to non-existent. I kept getting trapped in "do loops" doing the same loop multiple times before getting out of it--in large part (beyond the poor maps) because there are SO MANY trail cut-off's, alternate trails to stunts, and multiple entrances to the same trail.
It seems to me this place would be great with some improved signage/trail marking. I'm no trail building expert, but I think some energy put into better connectivity of the existing trails, reduction of some of the cuts, and longer sections of trail that run along contours instead of across would really improve the overall experience (and should help with the erosion too).
I hate to be negative about the few trails we have in this area, but I feel this is relevant if someone new to the area (and/or new to the sport) chooses to ride out here. Agreed, I need to spend some time getting familiar with the place, but I am neither new to the area or the sport and even to me the lack of flow and frustration of not having any idea where you are or which of the 4 unmapped crossroads to take to stay on your current trail heavily detract from an otherwise fun trail.
Reviewed by:andjava65
Reviewed on:02/22/2011
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
This was an awesome trail. I'm new to the area and tried most of the trails listed on this site and I have to say this so far my favorite. It's one of those trails that you want to hit over and over again to get better at it. I'm from Florida and it's just awesome to ride on these trails. It's a bit getting use to riding up hills but again, it's the challenge that brings us out to play...
Reviewed by:ncreptile
Reviewed on:12/01/2010
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
I have not really tried any of the other local trails already knowing the reputation that legend has for having the biggest "hucks" in the area.

With that said Legend is a fun place to ride, theres a good 6 miles of trails of which imo only 4 of those miles have anything worth mentioning. Theres some decent sized hills to go up and down so if you have a heavy bike like me you will find yourself walking part of the way. The lower trails are great for beginners to start on and its where I learned the basics.

The flow is OK on the upper trails but not so good on the lower. There are many jumps and obstacles on the upper trails so you will find yourself skipping the lower alltogether unless you just want a relaxing bike ride.

Unfortunetly storms have knocked out some of the skinnies and the park service just hasnt replaced them..

Hucksville is just plain awesome if you have a full suspension and its nearer to actual mountain biking than anything in the area. Best advice is dont slow down for anything, make sure you are prepared for the jump(behind the seat) and you pick a good take off spot. The hucks are legends are partially eroding so they have the potential to be dangerous(ask me, I landed on my friggin head).

Theres also the "Ravine" which looks pretty intimidating to weekend warriors like myself but its really alot of fun, just be sure you can handle your bike at fast speeds and DO NOT use your breaks going down it or you will end up a squished critter at the bottom.

Upper trails have decent flow with alot of ups and downs and feels like your are at a skate park at times, nothing like decending down a large hill and flying over a ramp/tree for a good 5 foot airjump.

Theres several creeks running through the lower trails and even a pond, its nice to look at but other than that theres not much to see unless you like the woods and native NC wildlife.

Best of all is the fact that this park is almost always empty on the weekdays but you will see some other bikers out there on the weekends.
As someone from clayton with an expensive downhill bike this place is a jewel and I am happy to call it home turf.

Its worth a look especially if you like jumping hills.
Reviewed by:Dresden
Reviewed on:11/15/2010
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Rode there yesterday...it is definately unique...if you like jumping then this is your spot...the trial is very poorly marked...I ran into a number of people asking which trail was easy or how to get back out...I finally found a good trail after the "hucksville" area...I had alot of fun there...the bad thing was it's an hour and 1/2 drive for me...I think they need more trails there and better marking of the trail themselves...also some very small trees need to be cut..I hit my handlebars there a few times.
Reviewed by:Like2ride
Reviewed on:06/26/2010
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Ventured out to Legend today for the first time, it is a fun trail system. There are many skinnies throughout the woods, to include one about 4 feet off the ground! I went to Hucksville, but it was rather washed out. There are maps all over the place, but several forks in the trail (not on the map) that make it difficult to navigate. The skills section is cool, wish there were some mild landing ramps for the large drops. Doing the 3 ½ feet drop to a flat surface is a little jarring.

It is a great trail system, but to far from Wake Forest to go back. IMO, Beaver and New Light still hold the prize for the best XC riding in the Triangle area that I have found.
Reviewed by:biggoofy
Reviewed on:03/27/2010
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Great trail system plenty of fun to be had here the huck section needs a little work some of the landings are washed out but the gap huck is awesome if u have the nerve to hit it what a rush it is after u land it! The trail system there is a very fun ride upper loop has plenty to offer a few jumps and tech sections. the lower loop was closed so i cant comment on it but there was a local torba member out there and helped us out on a few questions and a snapped chain lol

also the warm up section is pretty fun with all the skinnys and drops to play on ( I broke my 3rd seat on the drop)

big thanks to those that build and maintain these trails
Reviewed by:slirty
Reviewed on:03/08/2010
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
No detailed review given.
Reviewed by:Whole Milk
Reviewed on:08/09/2009
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
I live in Clayton so I consider this to be my home trail. I am just now getting back into mountain biking after three years of night shift and this was a great trail to get started on. There is enough technical stuff to you keep busy yet enough ride arounds to let every skill level have a good time.
Reviewed by:hoppy
Reviewed on:08/05/2009
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Legend is HOMEBASE for me and I'm grateful to have trails like this so close to home!

There is an upper side and a lower side to this system and they are very different from each other. The Lower trails are beautiful, running along side creek with a few log stacks, rock gardens and hill climbs that remind you why you're riding. The Lower trails seem to take a LONG time to dry out which is why LEGEND stays closed even when Gardner is open. You also have Allen's trail on this side and if you like elevated skinnies - there are a couple here that will test your skilz.

The Upper trails are where it's at for me! You start with the Hucks, I like to drop in on the first one...won't touch the others - but they are there if you got the nerve. Then there's the RAVINE (newbies beware) an intense down hill and immediate climb to the other side. After climbing out of the Ravine the climb continues, slow and steady straight to the top and from there it's Little Big Horn to the right - hit Lary's Loop - come back to Little Big Horn and take it back to the main trail. Head straight across the trail to Magnolia's Run! I love this loop, it's about 3 miles or so, great flow and awesome workout. For more "HILL CLIMB" enter Little Big horn just after the Ravine, take that first right...intense!

Then there's the Skilz section in the parking lot...huge confidence booster and great place to simply work on your skills.
Reviewed by:trailgrumper
Reviewed on:06/01/2009
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
I'd first like to say great job to the crew who's taking care of these trails. I saw a lot of prevention work done to keep the trails where they are. Second they've come a long way from the first time I rode them after they were created. Well ridden singletrack that can be ridden by almost anyone with some balance, which makes them fun to introduce people to mt. biking. Tight places, fast places, grinding uphills with a rest at the top. All in all a good set of trails, it doesn't hurt that they're 10 mins from my house!
Reviewed by:Lars
Reviewed on:05/26/2009
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Nice trail system
Reviewed by:SMAK
Reviewed on:03/06/2009
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:Not Rated
Report inappropriate review
No detailed review given.
Reviewed by:JonD
Reviewed on:03/06/2009
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:Not Rated
Report inappropriate review
When someone asks me how is Legend, my response is the question, "Have you ever ridden a roller coaster?" Then I explain Legend is like the calm while you make that first climb to the top of the hill then the major woosh noise you hear when you descend followed again by a series of quiet and woosh twists and turns. Well that is Legend A fast relatively smooth single track with a lot of quick climbs and downhills. The place was seemingly built for speed mixed with some technical switchbacks and skinies placed in prime spots. Technical features include off camber climbs (or DHs depending on direction, a few rock gardens, well placed skinnes, and some challenging climbs albeit not that long.

My favorite route is to drop into the lower trails taking the long loop, then climbing to the main trails, threading the ravine then riding Larrys loop, and Little big horn (from the top down), then joining back to the main trail for Magnolias run (top down), then riding back out on the Ravine to the green loop, and ending with another spin through the lower long loop.

I find Legend to be a lot of fun, but one must be mindful and look for jumps placed in the ST on downhills. If you are not careful you can be caught off guard and have your oh "S#@T" factor elevated "real, quick, and in a hurry."
Reviewed by:edoiron
Reviewed on:03/03/2009
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:Not Rated
Report inappropriate review
No detailed review given.
Reviewed by:Jack
Reviewed on:03/03/2009
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:Not Rated
Report inappropriate review
No detailed review given.
Reviewed by:MarkMTB
Reviewed on:03/01/2009
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:Not Rated
Report inappropriate review
No detailed review given.
Reviewed by:bnt0726
Reviewed on:02/23/2009
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:Not Rated
Report inappropriate review
Legend Park is great, but I seem to like it a little less than most riders in the area. Trails are well built with various obstacles, rock gardens, etc.... The advanced trails have quite a bit of short but steep climbing. Great place to work on technical skills. The thing I don't like about Legend Park is the layout of the trails. They are all very short loops that circle back to the same main trail. I guess I just prefer riding longer single track trails with a defined route. I am not big on Crabtree for the same reason.

Anyway great place to ride and if you like to freeride there is no better place in the Triangle.
Reviewed by:trianglemtb
Reviewed on:01/24/2009
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:Not Rated
Report inappropriate review
Legend Park is a heck of a lot of fun. Mile for mile, I would rate this the funnest trail in our area. There are small hops scattered throughout the trail and multiple opportunities for creative lines. There is a skills area near the parking lot and hucksville that afford riders some air time. The climbing is not too bad overall, but several of the climbs are steep, although not terribly long. There are a few rocky sections located between short loop and long loop if that's your thing.

Show all reviews