Your source for Mountain Biking in the Triangle
Raleigh-Durham-Chapel Hill

Trail Reviews for Little River Park as submitted by trianglemtb.com guests

Average ratings submitted by users                     Write a review   User submitted reviews
CategoryAverage Rating
Overall :   3.6 / 5.0   based on 26 votes
Technical :   2.6 / 5.0   based on 26 votes
Climbing :   3.4 / 5.0   based on 26 votes
Freeride :   1.5 / 5.0   based on 26 votes
Scenery/Wildlife :   2.9 / 5.0   based on 26 votes
Flow :   3.0 / 5.0   based on 18 votes



Little River Park trail has been reviewed 26 times by our trianglemtb.com guests.

Reviewed by:DaveTurnips
Reviewed on:02/28/2016
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Went out in the dead of winter. Lots of pine needles. Hilly.
Reviewed by:rrm155
Reviewed on:10/12/2015
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
First time on a true singletrack and I really enjoyed it despite being a bit damp/slick from the previous day's rain.
I never felt like I was in over-my-head or had to walk over/around anything.
The climbs weren't as bad as I expected after reading other reviews.
Looking forward to going back!
Reviewed by:jnroyal
Reviewed on:05/04/2015
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Rode this trail yesterday for the first time on account of it being the only one in the Triangle area that wasn't closed due to recent rains. I really liked the trail and would agree with the other posts describing it as a hillier Crabtree/Harris without the crowds. I rode a Surly Krampus (long wheelbase 29+ hardtail) with a 750mm wide handlebar which made it tricky maneuvering through some sections at speed, seems to me that the ideal bike for this trail would be an old-school 26'er with narrow handlebars and a short wheelbase.

The only real challenging technical feature is an optional skinny that sits below the main trail, I skipped it as it didn't look worth the hassle of climbing back up.

The climbs are short but steep. Riding clockwise seems to give you longer but easier climbs, riding counterclockwise gives you shorter, steeper climbs. Most of the other riders seemed to be riding clockwise. I did a couple laps in each direction and think I preferred clockwise.

It's kind of a bummer that this trail is so far from Raleigh but that distance is what keeps the crowds down and what allows it to be open when the Raleigh trails are closed.
Reviewed by:chirorick
Reviewed on:03/22/2015
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Remember to read the park hours above! I didn't and went out that way for my first time today. Arrived just before 5:30 pm thinking I had some daylight and park sign said closed at 6 pm. I can't rate it cuz it was only a sample of a ride.
Reviewed by:fathippo
Reviewed on:07/22/2014
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
No detailed review given.
Reviewed by:SlowLo
Reviewed on:04/07/2014
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
MC Escher actually designed this trail so you can continually go up. None of the climbs are too much but by the same token the descent never materializes, or there is a hard turn up hill to a switch back when the hills just begging to be blasted down the other way.

I actually like this place though because it doesn't draw too much of a crowd. But the downside to that is there are lots of pine needles which makes it a little slick.

I heard a while back that they may add mileage here which would be a good thing. A bit more flow would be fun with technical mixed in strategically.
Reviewed by:Hesston
Reviewed on:04/05/2014
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Fun trail! Lots of curves, switchbacks, etc. Climbs are rare, but you know when you get to one. Good times!
Reviewed by:Nash04
Reviewed on:08/29/2013
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Haven't gone there yet but just wanted to let people know the park is actually in Rougemont and not Durham. Enjoy
Reviewed by:le
Reviewed on:09/09/2012
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Counter-clockwise on Advance Trail has more climbing and is more technical...Scout the uphill ladder for missing cross-members. I didn't and had a colossal ender If in doubt, go down not up.
Reviewed by:vulcangreen
Reviewed on:08/04/2011
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
I have been eyeballing this trail for years on Triangle MTB and finally rode it this past weekend. I had never heard much chatter about it and when I asked about it no one was really blown away with it.

I will say I had fun on it. I was challenged by the climbs and had a good time hitting the fast downhill sections. Technically, it is somewhere in the middle. It has more challenging hills than Crabtree but otherwise mostly easy to intermediate. The scenery was all thick forest but no beautiful lake views like Beaver, New Light or Hogg's Run. There are some really tight trail sections similar to Chapel Hill that require big dips in speed.

I rode this with a friend that is new to mountain biking but is in really good shape. It was a great compromise trail for us to ride together. There was nothing out there that freaked him out posed a serious crash risk.

I would recommend this to novice riders as a place to ride some real single track. You will have some fun and get a good workout. As a more seasoned mountain biker, I can see how some might think it is boring. This trail is about 30 minutes from Chapel Hill where I live and I probably would not go out there more than once a year or so for variety.
Reviewed by:RAR
Reviewed on:01/29/2011
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Not bad, in general about as easy as crabtree but with 1.5 mile of short steep hills added, I didn't find it very technical. While beaver dam's hills are not as steep they are longer and more numerous. I finished the entire trail system in about 50 mins. It was easy to find, very well labeled and not too crowded.
Reviewed by:mkjensen
Reviewed on:12/12/2009
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
this trail, in my opinion, was not good for mountain biking, more like a good cross country running trail.
Reviewed by:solarman
Reviewed on:11/27/2009
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
This is my favorite trail in the triangle area, I find it to be slightly more technical then Beaver Dam without all the log jumps. Of course there are more technical trails around but none in this area as fun to ride IMHO.
Reviewed by:Tri3
Reviewed on:10/12/2009
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Fast and fun. A good workout after a few CCW laps.
Reviewed by:Weeg
Reviewed on:09/12/2009
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Rode trails in both directions today. Rding the "red" loop counter-clockwise is a slow, technical, non-flowing course. Riding it clockwise made for a better, yet still challening, ride.
Reviewed by:edoiron
Reviewed on:05/31/2009
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
No detailed review given.
Reviewed by:Benuki
Reviewed on:04/24/2009
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Not the most technical trail in the area by any means, but it does flow very well, is fast, and fun.
Reviewed by:Pivot_Head
Reviewed on:04/16/2009
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
The first portion is tight and twisty, but then opens up a bit with a few flowy undulations and a couple of notable climbs. There are also some well-posted advanced sections with optional bypasses. This trail is professionally built and dries out very quickly after a soaking.
Reviewed by:da newb
Reviewed on:03/23/2009
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:Not Rated
Report inappropriate review
No offense.. This trail's boring
Reviewed by:slirty
Reviewed on:03/18/2009
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:Not Rated
Report inappropriate review
No detailed review given.
Reviewed by:scooby
Reviewed on:03/07/2009
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:Not Rated
Report inappropriate review
No detailed review given.
Reviewed by:MarkMTB
Reviewed on:03/07/2009
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:Not Rated
Report inappropriate review
No detailed review given.
Reviewed by:SMAK
Reviewed on:03/06/2009
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:Not Rated
Report inappropriate review
No detailed review given.
Reviewed by:edoiron
Reviewed on:03/03/2009
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:Not Rated
Report inappropriate review
No detailed review given.
Reviewed by:Jack
Reviewed on:03/03/2009
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:Not Rated
Report inappropriate review
No detailed review given.
Reviewed by:Night Train
Reviewed on:03/02/2009
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:Not Rated
Report inappropriate review
No detailed review given.

Show all reviews