Your source for Mountain Biking in the Triangle
Raleigh-Durham-Chapel Hill

Trail Reviews for Lake Crabtree Park as submitted by trianglemtb.com guests

Average ratings submitted by users                     Write a review   User submitted reviews
CategoryAverage Rating
Overall :   3.8 / 5.0   based on 64 votes
Technical :   1.8 / 5.0   based on 64 votes
Climbing :   1.7 / 5.0   based on 64 votes
Freeride :   2.5 / 5.0   based on 64 votes
Scenery/Wildlife :   3.2 / 5.0   based on 64 votes
Flow :   4.1 / 5.0   based on 53 votes



Lake Crabtree Park trail has been reviewed 64 times by our trianglemtb.com guests.

Reviewed by:willisj76
Reviewed on:12/27/2016
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
One of my favorite trails in the area. Flow, flow, flow! It can get crowded, but when it isn't, it's a blast to ride. We normally park at the boat launch ramp and start with the Lake Trail, couple of right turns and end up at the pump track / jump section. Then off to 2, 3 and 4 and 1 / the Lake Trail backwards to take us out. Really fun ride, nothing too technical.
Reviewed by:Kev2380
Reviewed on:09/26/2016
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
This is one of my favorite places to ride. It can get crowded at times but if you go early morning or late in the day it's not bad. There are so many features to this place. If you get bored with the trails you can hit the pump track or go to the jumps section. There's something for everyone.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zrqLV6AsxE0
Reviewed by:Kalmerico
Reviewed on:03/03/2016
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
If the airport does take over Crabtree at least it will be open
Reviewed by:JordanA
Reviewed on:12/15/2015
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
This was my first visit to this trail system today, having spent the last six months riding exclusively at Carolina North Forest (CNF). CNF has taught me a lot about riding relatively technical trails, climbing, and cornering. Coming to Lake Crabtree today was a completely different experience. Very little technical stuff but incredible flow, smoothness and enjoyment. Plus the skills training areas and the small jumps (dirt jump area was closed) were great fun to play around on. If you want a nice, well maintained trail to ride at a decent and constant speed, visit Lake Crabtree. It will be a destination for me for a long time, especially for fitness rides (easy to push yourself and maintain a good elevated heart and breathing rate). I plan n brining my wife here for her first rides as I'm currently trying to get her into the sport. I fear CNF would scare her away!

To sum it up... Great place to ride. Smooth, flowing, enjoyable single track and two track. Berms are in place for cornering in numerous spots, which just adds to the enjoyment. You can ride for hours by taking all the loops (yes, you'll be re-riding spots) and also taking the trail extension to umstead. Live in the triangle and ride mountain bikes? Give it a shot.
Reviewed by:gadgetgeek
Reviewed on:08/25/2015
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Great place for beginners. It has good flow, simple climbs, and it can get quick very fast. However, it's not singletrack, and during the afternoons in the week and on the weekends you're bound to run into hikers and other riders coming in the opposite direction.

One of the really good things about Crabtree is that it has a number of loops that when done in any number of combinations can easily add up to as many miles as you want to ride.

There's also a skills area for beginners and advances, as well as some berms, a gap jump, and a small rock garden for practice.

From Crabtree you can easily ride into Umstead or vice versa through Old Reedy Creek Road.
Reviewed by:JonB
Reviewed on:07/13/2015
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Mostly hardpack trail that is really flowy and has some great berms and little tabletops. It isn't too technical or physically demanding but is still a really fun and enjoyable ride.

The biggest problem is that for some reason they allow the trail to go in both directions and I cannot fathom why. The entire point of a singletrack trail system is to have one way traffic. It totally kills the flow when you're riding down through a berm section and have to stop for a rider coming the opposite direction.
Reviewed by:tidal71
Reviewed on:04/26/2015
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
No detailed review given.
Reviewed by:Zilla
Reviewed on:06/13/2014
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
These trails are great to learn on - easy enough so one doesn't get frustrated and end up carrying the bike a lot, but hard enough to get a good workout. i generally do the outer-most loop, with clockwise being the easier route in my opinion. I ride the lollipop trail (loop 6) for an extra kick-in-the-a**. Have fun, and wear a helmet!!!
Reviewed by:Miyata
Reviewed on:05/06/2014
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
This isn't a hard technical ride but it sure is fun. It's a great beginner course, conveniently located, and well maintained. With miles of trails it offers almost endless variety. This should be a must see destination for anyone into the joy of riding in the woods.
Reviewed by:hsoverma
Reviewed on:11/15/2013
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
I have been riding in and around crabtree since 1996 and we are very fortunate to have such a well maintained trail. I remember the days when the trail along the lake was only allowed to be used by hikers!

I used to NOT like crabtree for the following reasons (my thoughts and feelings only):

1) lack of technical sections
2) every change or "improvement" made it seem more like a convenient to people paved trail rather than a dirt trail cut according the convenience of the land.
3) Too much traffic

So, now I have change my mind over the last 2 years and I love the smoothness, the flow, the hard work of staff and volunteers to maintain it, and the improvements! This is one of the most well drained trail system in the area, and it is one of the first trail systems to open up after hard rains.

Stay away during weekends if you are wanting to go fast - courtesy always comes first on this trail and it gets really busy. First light in the mornings is one of my favorite times to ride - lots of deer to be seen and beautiful sunrise over the lake, and I can go fast if I'd like without bugging anyone.

My favorite loop is to run on outside either clockwise or counter-clockwise, but it is possible to get about 9 miles out of crabtree with little to no overlap if you plan your route correctly.
Reviewed by:time2ride
Reviewed on:10/06/2013
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Great trail for beginners or people that like to ride as fast as possible. Flows well and a easy ride compared to most other trails in the area. There are some nice views of the lake and if you can get out there mid-day during the work week there are hardly any other riders and you can start beating your previous lap times.
Reviewed by:woohoo
Reviewed on:08/21/2013
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
No detailed review given.
Reviewed by:kdeanmtb
Reviewed on:08/16/2013
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
This is a poem I wrote about my recent experience at Lake Crabtree, which I have been going to for a few years.

The woods are lovely, dark, and deep,
but on the roots, my speed won't keep.
Needs more dirt, and perhaps upkeep,
Needs more dirt, and perhaps upkeep.
Reviewed by:bigballstick
Reviewed on:06/30/2013
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
As I have not been on an off road trail since I was a lot younger this is a great place to learn. My GF and I are still learning the trails and have met some awesome folks to help guide us on this trail. It flows very nicely and is challenging to the very new beginner. Both her and I are still learning how to balance properly and keep our safe around the some of the harder areas. The important thing to all beginners is
1. go at your pace
2. challenger your self
3. allow other riders to help you
Reviewed by:Tanager
Reviewed on:05/31/2013
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
If I could, I'd hit Crabtree just about every day at lunch (which is, I suspect, the secret dream of most bike geeks in RTP). It's centrally located and accessible, very well maintained, and simply a blast to ride. I'm somewhere near the low end of intermediate technically (I log the vast majority of my miles on a road bike), and LCCP is technical enough to make me work hard, but not so technical that I don't enjoy it, and there is a ton of good flow, even through all but the gnarliest sections. It's easy to rack up the miles here by exploring/combining loops, and you can duck out into Umstead onto the bridle trails/fire roads there for a break, or if you simply want to spin up the pedals for a while. There is enough climbing to get the pulse up, but there aren't any really extended climbs, so it's probably a good spot for those looking to get in shape, but who aren't there yet - and the trails are signed as to difficulty at most of the junctions, so you can (mostly) avoid anything beyond your skill/fitness level. This place is a real treasure.
Reviewed by:TonyOhh
Reviewed on:11/23/2012
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Great learning trail! For those just getting into MTB this would be the place to go. Very organized trails, clearly marked and well maintained.
Reviewed by:Klunkdub
Reviewed on:02/10/2012
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Awesome place to learn and develope skills! Jumps, pump track, flowing trail, technical sections, and minimal climbs make Crabtree a blast! Not to mention the family of deer that hangout along the trail. If you have not already, you've got to checkout crabtree.
Reviewed by:dman1123
Reviewed on:01/02/2012
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Pretty good flow so it can be pretty fun if you ride fast. A few good jumps along the trail and then, of course, there are the dirt jumps which is my reasoning for giving a high freeride score. Nothing much in the way of climbing but if you ride it fast you will definitely get a good workout.
Reviewed by:Aquajern
Reviewed on:12/17/2011
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Trail had great flow and a little bit of everything, not to technical but great ride highly recommended for all levels of riding!

>Trail includes:
Jump section (beginner and more advanced)
Pump section
Skills sections (great balance and drop off pieces)
Some nice hills and climbs, but overall not technical (few rooty parts)
Flows great!
Nice lake side trail, offers great scenery, benches to rest, and many views of lake.

Just go you will not be disappointed!

*Due note this trail can be very tricky to navigate for the first few times, lots of intersecting loops, but had a ball anyway going in circles till I had enough.
Reviewed by:murr
Reviewed on:08/16/2011
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Good place to learn how to ride fast. Definitely not a technical trail system. Although, there are a few sections where you can learn to corner without braking. Other than that no big hills and nothing very strenuous about, Crabtree. Just a fun, fast track.
Reviewed by:rampage
Reviewed on:08/07/2011
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
No detailed review given.
Reviewed by:andjava65
Reviewed on:06/16/2011
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
This is a very nice fast trail. Not very technical except for some sharp turns. If you want to have fun, ride fast this is the trail for you...
Reviewed by:zman
Reviewed on:06/10/2011
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
No detailed review given.
Reviewed by:scrutton
Reviewed on:04/18/2011
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
No detailed review given.
Reviewed by:RickyE
Reviewed on:03/10/2011
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Trail has a few technical sections and turns but overall is just very flowing and fast. This is a good trail if you want to just fly through the woods and hit a lot of banked turns. I gave a high freeride rating for the jumps section which has sizes for all skill levels.
Reviewed by:Scottyb
Reviewed on:02/03/2011
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
This a nice trail to just get out and enjoy the twists and turns on pretty smooth dirt. There is not a huge amount of tech but there are some freeride opportunities with a jump track and some skills obstacles that have been put in place. I'd consider this a good place to start out if you're new.
Reviewed by:jpbova
Reviewed on:11/01/2010
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
I've ridden beaverdam, harris, and wilkesboro trails. These are some of easier trails in the area. They are fast and smooth. There aren't to many technical obstacles, but a good place to get in a good spin.

This trail is easier than beaverdam and harris
Reviewed by:ED K
Reviewed on:10/14/2010
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
No detailed review given.
Reviewed by:joshcamp
Reviewed on:04/07/2010
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
No detailed review given.
Reviewed by:BigginStampede
Reviewed on:03/22/2010
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Finally got to ride Crabtree this weekend for the first time. This trail is a GREAT beginner trail. I consider myself a beginner and ran through this with no problem. I do like how fast the trail is. Easy uphills and nice downers. Nothing is too steep. Trail 5 is probably the most technical. A couple of fun obsticals. Other than that its just rooty really. I guess roots could be technical to some. Pump track is fun. Jump track knows me pretty well considering I left some skin out there. Kinda funny I am not 13 and weigh 100lbs anymore.
Reviewed by:Ekim
Reviewed on:02/19/2010
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Crabtree is always a fun place to hit during the week for a quick ride, especially with the wife. Not a technical trail, but the flow is great and I never find myself being bored. I try to avoid this trail on the weekends as it is very busy and you end up spending a lot of time stopping and waiting. It is'nt as bad if you go early in the morning on the weekends.

Definitely recommend this trail to anyone getting into the sport of MTB'ng or for those that just want to get out and hammer some fast miles.
Reviewed by:Adrian
Reviewed on:11/06/2009
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Crabtree is my favorite right now. Although I have only rode Beaver Dam, Crabtree and the dirty greenway of Umstead.

The pump track will kick your butt if you but some time in to it. The jump section is nice but I might be missing the flow. It just didn't allow for enough initial pickup speed, but that might be just me.

I love Crabtree because it is near my work and the trails just seem fun. 4 hours of work and BS meetings... then 1 hour of cruising around... 5 hours of work and meetings afterwards. Great way to break up the day.
Reviewed by:Triggin
Reviewed on:11/02/2009
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
one of the best "flow" trails in the area. its not a difficult trail compared to others in the area, but this trail has excellent flow and is good trail for kids, beginners and people like me who just want to go have some fun on a bike! enjoy!
Reviewed by:JohnDistai
Reviewed on:08/16/2009
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Crabtree is a great trail for beginners and intermediates. It is well maintained, and easily accessible from the RTP area. There are a few obstacles on the trails, but overall the trails flow very well. My only complaint is that there are a lot of rooty sections which reduce the flow, and it tends to get crowded on the weekends. Experienced riders may get bored with Crabtree, but there are some skills areas which may increase interest. Overall, I am very glad that the local government made an effort to provide a trail system with easy access and challenges for most skill levels.
Reviewed by:tfstorres
Reviewed on:07/31/2009
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
No detailed review given.
Reviewed by:chexem
Reviewed on:07/29/2009
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
No detailed review given.
Reviewed by:BeHoppy
Reviewed on:07/28/2009
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Crabtree is an excellent trail and we're lucky to have it in our neck of the woods. It's fun for all, and my kids cut their teeth on it. The features such as the Pump Track and Jump Line are warranted and super fun. HOWEVER...the JUMP LINE still needs some work. I rode it a few months ago and left with the feeling something was not right. Then I rode last month in Oregon on Whoops Trail which has a "jump line" that is over a mile long. I returned to Crabtree yesterday with my son and realized what the problem(s) is/are: (1) the big jumps to the left are way too long for the amount of speed the short lead up will allow you. The Jump Line either needs a longer approach, or an elevated staging area to gain more speed, or someone needs to cut off about 12-18 inches from the length of the table top. Everyone I talked to seems to agree...including the kid who endo-ed because he came up short and bounced his back wheel up over his head. You're going for a smooth landing on the other side of the table and the current Line just doesn't allow you to pick up enough speed to do so. (2) The other issue is that we may want to flatten out and extend the angle of the landing ramps. Again, you're going for a smooth landing. The Jump Lines current landing ramps cause you to hit with your back wheel and then slam down a second later with the front. What you want is the whole bike hitting the landing pad in a smooth motion. The overall length of the current pads are only about half a bike length and they should be about 1.5 bike lengths. Don't get me wrong...the Jump Line is great and this area needs more of this, but we have to get it right.
Reviewed by:yeti575
Reviewed on:07/15/2009
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Great little ride for a quick afternoon outing. Flows nicely, not to rooty, nice little climbs.
Reviewed by:Like2ride
Reviewed on:07/12/2009
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
This is a fun place to ride; great for beginners. My wife just began riding June 09 and was able to complete the entire loop (6 miles). It is not technical at all; there are a lot of smooth flowing sections and some roots, certainly not hardcore riding at all, but fun! For those looking for a little challenge, the park has a pump track, dirt jumping track, one entry level skills section and one advanced skills section. There is also what they call a entry level rock garden, but it is to small to be called a rock garden. Its more like 6 foot of rock in the trail that you can go around if you like. Fun place to ride, would make a great place for endurance training if you do 2+ laps.
Reviewed by:quisk
Reviewed on:06/23/2009
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
LCCP is a well-maintained trail system with excellent flow and good marking & maps. Compared to other trails, it's an easy ride (although Loop #6 provides some more challenging terrain than the rest). The LCCP trails are mostly singletrack and do not have any significant (long, steep) hills - even so, the terrain is interesting and pretty challenging, especially for beginners, mainly due to tree roots. I began MTB'ing at LCCP and learned good skills over the past few years riding there, but as my speed has increased, I've had more and more problems with oncoming riders that either don't know or don't care about the basic rules of 'right of way'. It seems LCCP is attracting more and more inconsiderate riders, ones that seem to think they own the center of the trail, no matter if going up or down hill, etc. The riding experience would be considerably more enjoyable if everyone was considerate enough to just moved over to the right when an oncoming rider needs to pass. Of course, there are some narrower sections of trail that (supposedly) require the downhill rider to stop to yield right of way, but many riders just treat those situations like a game of Chicken. It's gotten to the point where I've essentially given up on LCCP and have moved onto other, less popular local trails. Another thing worth noting about LCCP is that hikers walk on the same trails as bikers ride on, and hikers have right of way (which seems backwards to me, considering a hiker can far more easily move/step aside than a rider can). Most hikers are very generous by moving over to give room for riders to pass, but the occasional hiker will hold onto trail center, requiring the rider to stop, dismount, etc.
Reviewed by:ttucker
Reviewed on:06/19/2009
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
No detailed review given.
Reviewed by:da cuz
Reviewed on:06/19/2009
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
No detailed review given.
Reviewed by:blaira89
Reviewed on:06/16/2009
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Overall, a great trail. I rode the outer loop with a stop to check out the jumps and the pump track. Over all the trail is fairly fun to ride, with a few optional obstacles that can be included for a more technical feeling ride. The jumps are fairly fun but I'd advise to only use them if you have experience jumping bikes. I grew up riding BMX so jumping is nothing new to me. The jump track is interesting and I intend to return and see what all I can learn.

I'd say the one draw back is that there are no straight aways longer than 100 feet or so, the path doubles back on itself to make the most of the acreage, but really takes away from the flow. This hinders the ability to look around because your eyes are glued to the unpredicatble path changes ahead (although this was in itself semi-entertaining too, so its a minus and a plus).

But if any part of my review helps people: I am coming back for more! So I'll cya on the trails!
Reviewed by:hammer
Reviewed on:05/31/2009
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
No detailed review given.
Reviewed by:Birdman
Reviewed on:05/15/2009
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Nice trail, close to where I work. Not too crowded at noon, good flow, reasonable tight. Great for singlespeeding. A good intermediate trail to practice your handling skills without getting in over your head. Lots of loop options to extend or shorten your ride.
Reviewed by:crosscountrymtb
Reviewed on:05/10/2009
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
extremely rooty and technical in sections but there is always an alternate route. A great beginner to intermediate trail.
Reviewed by:Jeff
Reviewed on:05/08/2009
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Crabtree can be a blast if you visit when traffic is light. Expect a lot of new riders if you visit on a nice Saturday or Sunday in season. When traffic is light you can fly in the Crab and everything is ride-able by anyone except an out of shape beginner. When the weather is great traffic in the park will be heavy and the fun factor definitely goes down. You can get a great work out by combining a ride in Crabtree with a ride on the fire roads in Umstead. Loop 6 is probably the most technical part of the trail. The lake trail is a fast flowy trail especially when you start from the intersection of loop 5 and the connector up to loop 1 and head towards I-40.

Loops are numbered in the order in which they were built, that's why loop 6 is off of loop 1.

Expect to see a lot of wildlife in Crabtree, numerous deer, black snakes, turtles, a heron, and an occasional fox. There are a pair of Bald Eagles that call Lake Crabtree home along with a pair of hawks.

Crabtree can be accessed via the Black Creek Greenway and gate where the greenway exits on to Old Reedy Creek Road in Cary or by coming in via Aviation Parkway.
Reviewed by:Swin
Reviewed on:05/07/2009
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
No detailed review given.
Reviewed by:vulcangreen
Reviewed on:04/27/2009
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Crabtree is a great trail system whether you are an experience mountain biker or a beginner. In fact, if you are an experienced mountain biker, it is a great place to take your friends that are beginners because there is something for everyone. It seems that Crabtree has been very open minded about allowing local mountain biking organizations develop the trail system. There is a great beginners' rock garden, teeter totter, a few skinnys, a pump track, and a jump line.

While the trail is not that long, it is very fast and very well maintained. It seems to be open more days per year than any other trail system since it drys out quickly after rain. The trails are very pretty, especially the lake view trail looking over Lake Crabtree. The only bummer is that I-40 sits right next to the trail which sort of screws up the peacefulness of being in the woods. Some loops have less road noise than others.

Give it a shot. The entire system can be ridden in probably an hour or less. If you want a longer ride, try parking at the bike and bridle trail head at Umstead Park (hgwy 70 entrance) and ride into Crabtree the back way. This will give you a good spinning work out before and after the single track at Crab. Maps for Umstead can be found in a small box in front of the visitors center.
Reviewed by:bmxronl
Reviewed on:04/16/2009
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
No detailed review given.
Reviewed by:krinxstound
Reviewed on:04/14/2009
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Good trail, easy flow.
Scenery is great during sprintime.
Some obstacle courses:
pump tracks
ramps
see-saw
Overall, it is a good beginner and intermediate trail.
Reviewed by:TANK
Reviewed on:04/14/2009
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Great staff, very good to MTB community. Great place to learn to trail ride. Very fast if you are looking for speed. Just nice family friendly trails close to everything.
Reviewed by:terrible1one3
Reviewed on:04/11/2009
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
I enjoy Crabtree. It is very close so it is a common place to find me.

The issues are it is extremely convenient for a lot of people so the trails are usually pretty filled. There is also a constant highway buzz.

The trails are closed way to often in my opinion. After a light rain they are sure to be closed at least one day if not more.

Overall it is fun tight singletrack with a lot of switchbacks and good riding.

There are a few obstacles in the skills area which are fun to play around on. This park also has jumps which is absolutely awesome I think. I wish more parks had more developed jumps/pump tracks/ and skills area like crabtree. Really progressive and good for the sport of cycling.

The other activities make it great too, whether it is kayaking, or volleyball, you can have a fun day here and get away from the bustle that is a quarter mile away.
Reviewed by:JonD
Reviewed on:03/24/2009
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:Not Rated
Report inappropriate review
No detailed review given.
Reviewed by:SMAK
Reviewed on:03/06/2009
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:Not Rated
Report inappropriate review
No detailed review given.
Reviewed by:ZaqHydN
Reviewed on:03/05/2009
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:Not Rated
Report inappropriate review
I like this trail. It has all the ingrediants to a great novice ride.
Reviewed by:Miyata
Reviewed on:03/05/2009
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:Not Rated
Report inappropriate review
I think this is a beautiful place to ride. You frequently see herds of deer, snakes and other wildlife on the ride. Although not technical the riding is fast and challenging. I've never felt that the 5+ miles of trails were crowded although sometimes courtesy suffers with all the newbies out for a ride. The park is well maintained and the trails are generally clean and in good repair.
This is a park that makes me appreciate being a tax payer.
Reviewed by:jcw5002
Reviewed on:03/04/2009
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:Not Rated
Report inappropriate review
No detailed review given.
Reviewed by:edoiron
Reviewed on:03/03/2009
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:Not Rated
Report inappropriate review
No detailed review given.
Reviewed by:Jack
Reviewed on:03/03/2009
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:Not Rated
Report inappropriate review
No detailed review given.
Reviewed by:DFBKID13
Reviewed on:03/02/2009
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:Not Rated
Report inappropriate review
Good Summer hang-out with the jumps and pumptrack!
Reviewed by:Bmateo
Reviewed on:03/01/2009
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:Not Rated
Report inappropriate review
Overall, they are just fun trails. They flow well and leave a smile on my face. They are not hard, or challenging, just fun.
Reviewed by:MarkMTB
Reviewed on:03/01/2009
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:Not Rated
Report inappropriate review
One of the most popular trails in the area given its location. The trails can be "crowded" when the weather is nice on a weekend. While most of the trails are beginner friendly, there are some nice features throughout to keep you on your toes.

You can connect this trail system with Old Reedy Creek Road and Umstead State Park.
Reviewed by:trianglemtb
Reviewed on:01/24/2009
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:Not Rated
Report inappropriate review
Crabtree has probably the best land utilization of any of our area trails. The small amount of land is packed with relatively gentle singletrack. Don't expect lung busting climbs or long sections of technical trail (although there are a few rock gardens), but the crab is definitely fun. Often there are lots of other trail users so you have to watch your speed and control but when not crowded, it's fun to carry speed around these trails. There's a small residency of deer and if you're out there near sunset, the lake views are very nice.

Crabtree Park is also a good destination for freeriding. There's a pump track, dirt jumps, a couple of skinny bridges, a teeter-totter, and a couple of rock gardens.

Show all reviews